CAA’s Teyana Taylor and Lorrie Bartlett to be honored at Culture Creators Awards (exclusive)

CAA’s Teyana Taylor and Lorrie Bartlett are among the honorees who will be recognized at the eighth annual Creators, Innovators and Cultural Leaders Awards Brunch later this week.

Bartlett will receive the Icon Award for his “outstanding contributions to the entertainment industry and his unwavering commitment to promoting diversity and inclusion, while leading initiatives promoting equity within Hollywood.” Bartlett’s client list includes Regina King, Michael Keaton, Samuel L. Jackson, Travis Kelce, Fantasia Barrino, Corey Hawkins, Madelyn Cline, Rachel Zegler, Andra Day, Ruth Negga, Laverne Cox and Josh Duhamel.

Multihyphenate Taylor will be recognized “for her profound influence on music, fashion, film and culture.” Taylor has released albums including KTS And The album and appeared in films like One thousand and one And The Book of Clarence. She is set to make her directorial debut on Get Lite with Storm Reid.

The invitation-only event, presented by BET, will take place June 28 at the Beverly Hilton International Ballroom, two days before the 2024 BET Awards. The event is also a benefit for the Culture Creators Foundation, a dedicated nonprofit organization to bridge the gap between high school and college and college to graduation for underrepresented students in industries lacking diversity. Funds raised at the brunch will support the 2024 school year scholarship program for Campus Changemakers, the foundation’s first cohort of students across 35 colleges and universities.

“At Culture Creators, we believe in the power of diversity to drive innovation and progress,” says Joi Brown, founder of Culture Creators. “This event demonstrates our commitment to amplifying the voices and contributions of individuals from diverse backgrounds. By celebrating these pioneers, we inspire a new generation of creators and leaders. This is precisely why we founded the Culture Creators Foundation: to create a pipeline that nurtures and supports underrepresented talent, ensuring that their impact on culture and society is profound and lasting.

Other honorees include Monique Idlett, co-founder of Reign Venture Capital; Connie Orlando, BET Executive Vice President/Head of Specials, Music Programming and Music Strategy; Morning Mindset with Tai’s Tai Beauchamp, Claire Sulmers of FashionBombDaily; Alencia Johnson, social impact and brand engagement strategist; Cecil White of WME Sports; celebrity stylist duo Wayman + Micah, AI innovator and immersive technology expert Alton Glass; and Maya and Brian Smith, creators of the Black-owned hair care line, The Doux.

Gia Peppers is set to host the event, which will feature performances from Raheem DeVaughn and Infinity Song, with DJ sets from DJ RoseGold. The brunch will also feature conversations on storytelling, leadership, mentoring and empowerment.

Previous Icon Award recipients…

Read Complete News ➤

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

11 − one =